Effective Criminal Defense Attorney Helping Clients Facing DUI Charges in Diamond Bar
Like most states, California takes driving under the influence (DUI) seriously. Drivers who are found guilty of operating their vehicles while under the influence of drugs or alcohol may face stiff penalties, including license suspension, steep fines, and jail time. If you are currently facing a DUI charge, you likely have many questions and are feeling anxious about what comes next. Fortunately, Eric D. Davis, Attorney at Law is here to talk you through your options and help you receive the best possible outcome. With nearly two decades of criminal defense experience in the Diamond Bar area, Mr. Davis has helped numerous clients in your very situation resolve these charges and move forward with their lives.
Exploring Your Options and Protecting Your Rights
Typically, a DUI is considered a misdemeanor charge under California state law. However, a DUI conviction can carry steep penalties, including possible jail time, fines, court costs, mandatory treatment programs, license suspension, and more. Immediately after your arrest, your license will be automatically suspended for a period of 30 days, unless you request a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The criminal proceeding will include an arraignment, where you enter your plea, and then you may go to trial. However, many cases settle before ever needing to go to trial.
Since the penalties for DUIs vary depending on whether this was your first, second, or third offense, it is imperative that you work with a seasoned DUI attorney to fully understand the potential consequences you are facing. Experienced DUI attorney Eric D. Davis will help you assess the facts of your case and make sure none of your rights were violated during your arrest. Together, you will talk through your options and decide on the best path forward to have the charges dismissed or reduced.
Q: What are the penalties for a first-time DUI offense?
A: If you are convicted of a DUI in California and it is your first offense, you can expect to pay up to $1800 in fines and costs, spend up to 48 hours in jail, have your license automatically suspended for between 30 and 90 days (or more), and complete a mandatory three-month alcohol treatment program. Of course, every case is different, so contact Eric D. Davis, Attorney at Law today to schedule your free initial case evaluation for a more realistic picture of the penalties you are facing.
Q: I have a prior conviction for a DUI that is over ten years old. Does this count as a prior conviction in my current case?
A: Fortunately, no. If your current DUI charge occurs more than ten years after your first conviction, the court will treat this current charge as your first offense for sentencing purposes.
Here to Help
Whether you are facing your first DUI charge or you have prior DUI convictions, Eric D. Davis, Attorney at Law is here to protect your rights. For almost 20 years, we have worked with numerous clients facing DUI charges, and we understand how to successfully guide them through the process with honesty and encouragement.
If you are facing DUI charges and unsure about your options, Eric D. Davis, Attorney at Law is here to assist you. For nearly two decades, our firm has represented Diamond Bar residents in your situation and helped them receive a favorable outcome. Call us today at (909) 312-0091 to schedule a free initial consultation with a dedicated DUI lawyer.
Call For A Free Consultation